Nine EU member states late to implement Ship Recycling Regulation

06.06.2019 − 

The European Commission has announced that it will open infringement proceedings against nine member states for failing to fully implement the EU Ship Recycling Regulation. Croatia, Cyprus, Germany, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, and Sweden are to receive letters of formal notice giving them two months to reply or remedy the shortcomings. If they fail to do so, the EU Commission can move forward to the next step in the proceedings.

Unlike Directives which must be transposed by the member states into national law, EU Regulations are immediately applicable and enforceable in all member states as soon as they take effect. However, member states are not free of obligations under Regulations. According to the EU Commission, the Ship Recycling Regulation requires member states to designate competent authorities, administrations and contact persons and to draft provisions under national law relating to the enforcement of these EU rules. The deadline for fulfilling these requirements and notifying the Commission passed on 31 December 2018.

The Regulation (EU) No 1257/2013 is intended to ensure that ships sailing under the flag of an EU Member State are dismantled and recycled in a safe and sustainable manner. The EU Regulation also serves to implement the International Maritime Organisation’s Hong Kong Ship Recycling Convention.

Tags of this news:

previous − Single-Use Plastics Directive published in the EU Official Journal

Council approves new legislation on single-use plastics and fertiliser  − next